Whole30

Seth proposed a few months ago.  And, as with any soon-to-be-married couple, we decided we needed to lose weight and tone up for such festivities.  That’s where the title of this post comes in.

Now, I’m not a fan of fad diets.  I believe in eating healthy (pay no attention to the bowl of candy next to me), working out, and just not being a slug.  When Atkins happened, I thought people were crazy.  Beach Body is great, except you have to follow the food amounts if you’re doing the 2x a day workouts.  Hi, I barely get through one a day.  And with an hour drive each way to work, there aren’t enough hours in the day.

Whole30 sounds more legit.  There have been a few studies to show it takes about 30 days to “reset” cravings and dietary habits.  Our goal for ourselves is that at the end of the 30 days, we won’t want as much bread or sugary stuff.  Goals, people… gotta have goals.

So, no alcohol, no sugars, no dairy.  And I’m not allowed to call it a “diet” or “someone” won’t follow it.  We had to come up with new names like “detox”, “reset”, or “dietary reset.”  Last-weekend margaritas were involved in this, so don’t judge the last one.

I have friends who have tried this, and they swear by it.  Our biggest challenge in this “reset” is lunch.  We both have stressful jobs so the idea of lunch-on-the-go by grabbing a smoothie or quick burger with coworkers is usually the case.  So I have to make lunches ahead of time and pull guilt trips if he doesn’t eat them.  This time of year, I can usually tell my schedule for the week so I can determine if I need to make a Whole30-approved smoothie or can eat a microwaved meal.  Usually.  Seth, however, works a block away from the apartment and mostly works from home  This means he may pop into the office and then not be home for lunch.  Again, this is all about resetting habits.

When reading other blogs and watching friends do this on Facebook, I noticed they threw all the food away so not to be tempted.  I, however, am cheap.  This is partially why we are doing the “last weekend” thing to get through some of the perishable items.  Anything non-perishable is going into a cupboard that I may padlock.  Seems like a good idea, right?  Except Seth likes to pick locks…

Joking aside, I do anticipate us having some willpower and being able to keep ourselves on track for a month.  After going through the cabinets in the kitchen, this became the “NO” cabinet:

IMG_20171104_113708
It’s a little packed

Recipes are printed, grocery list is put together, and I am ready!

I want to give a shout-out to a few lists from a site that helps with the small random things you want to keep in a pantry:

Stay tuned for more updates!

 

One thought on “Whole30

  1. Pingback: Post Whole30 – This Krazy Journey Called Life

Leave a comment